Programs
Where are you now?
Pick the one that fits. This shows the programs Cleveland State University – School of Nursing lists for that starting point. It is not an admissions decision.
2 listed programs
Compare before you apply
Similar MSN programs at other schools
Programs near you come first. Then schools we partner with. Each opens on its own page.
Arizona State University
MSN — Nursing Education
Online · 18 months · $18,480 total tuition
Enrolls Ohio residents
See how the online format works: MSN — Nursing Education at Arizona State UniversityWalden University
MSN — Nursing Leadership
Online · 30 months · $40,488 total tuition
Enrolls Ohio residents
See how the online format works: MSN — Nursing Leadership at Walden UniversityHerzing University
MSN — Nursing Administration
Online · 24 months · $21,000 total tuition
Enrolls Ohio residents
See how the online format works: MSN — Nursing Administration at Herzing University
Outcomes
NCLEX-RN pass rates by year
Board-reported first-time pass rates for Cleveland State University – School of Nursing, each shown with the cohort size it was calculated from. Candidate-weighted average across 2 years: 76.3% over 291 candidates.
Cleveland State University – School of Nursing's latest reported year is 2025, and that 68.24% — from a cohort of 148 first-time candidates — is 18.5 points below the 86.7% national first-time NCLEX-RN pass rate NCSBN reported for 2025.
| Exam year | First-time pass rate | Candidates |
|---|---|---|
| 2025 | 68.24% | 148 |
| 2024 | 84.61% | 143 |
Source: state board of nursing publications, transcribed per cohort. Cohorts under 10 candidates are suppressed rather than shown. Full NCLEX detail for Cleveland State University – School of Nursing.
Cleveland State University – School of Nursingoverall score
Strengths
- NCLEX pass rate
Watch-outs
- Online flexibility
Score breakdown
- NCLEX pass rate75
- Job market strength69
- Online flexibility4
- Tuition affordability69
The Opportunity Score blends NCLEX pass rate, tuition affordability, graduation outcomes, schedule flexibility, hospital clinical partnerships, and state job-market strength. Missing inputs are excluded and remaining weights are redistributed proportionally. How we calculate this.
Admissions
Admissions at Cleveland State University – School of Nursing
Moderately Competitive.
- Online Accelerated BSN (ABSN):
- – Cumulative GPA requirement: minimum 2.50
- – Prerequisite GPA requirement: minimum 3.0
- – Applicants who have failed a prior nursing course are not eligible for admission
- – Additional admissions components: resume, interview, essay, two letters of recommendation, transcripts, and bachelor’s degree in any field required
- Traditional (on‑campus) BSN program:
- – Cumulative GPA requirement: at least 2.50
- – Prerequisite GPA requirement: at least 3.0
- – Specific prerequisite course grade requirements:
- – Anatomy & Physiology I & II: B or better
- – Chemistry I & II: C or better
- – Microbiology: B or better
- – English I & II: C or better
- – College-level Mathematics: B or better
- – Psychology: C or better
- – Admission materials: School of Nursing application, fee, transcripts, two recommendations, resume
- – Selection based on prerequisite GPA, cumulative GPA, recommendations, resume, interview, written essay at interview, and related healthcare experience
- – No waitlist; unsuccessful applicants must reapply
- Master of Science in Nursing (MSN) (general program)
- – Minimum cumulative undergraduate GPA required: 3.0
- – Must hold a valid, active U.S. RN license and a BSN degree
- – Must have completed an undergraduate or graduate-level statistics course
- – Additional materials: application form, fee, transcripts, two professional letters of recommendation, essay, and resume
Based on publicly available information. Source
Wages
Ohio RN mean wage
Published tuition is in the figures above. This is the mean annual wage for a registered nurse in the school's home state.
$86,110
Salary is the BLS OEWS May 2024 mean annual wage for registered nurses in Ohio. Tuition is the school-published program total and excludes fees, books, and living costs.
About
About Cleveland State University – School of Nursing
The MSN-FNP is a 47-credit, six-semester program requiring 780 clinical hours, completable in two years full-time. Three start dates per year. Affordable in-state tuition around $636/credit. Post-Graduate Certificates also available.
Format
Schedule and format at Cleveland State University – School of Nursing
- Here’s what I found regarding schedule and format flexibility for nursing programs at Cleveland State University – School of Nursing. Facts are pulled directly from official sources; if something is not stated, I note that it's unclear.
- ### Accelerated Bachelor of Science in Nursing (ABSN)
- Format: Online coursework combined with two campus residencies in Cleveland, Ohio
- Delivery: Online coursework is asynchronous (self‑paced, independent learning)
- Cohort start options: Two intakes per year—Fall and Summer
- Program length: 16 months (four consecutive semesters, full‑time)
- Asynchronous vs synchronous: Weekly workload:
- 14–19 hours on asynchronous coursework (self‑paced online)
- 21–26 hours assessed activities (discussions, assignments)
- Clinical: 15 hours on-site clinical placements with preceptor
- Total estimated weekly commitment: 50–60 hours
- Transfer credit / advanced‑standing policies: Not stated on visible program pages; unclear.
- ### RN to BSN (Online)
- Format: Fully online program; specific mode (asynchronous vs synchronous) not explicitly stated, but described as having a flexible schedule
- Cohort start options: Defined semester structure (Fall, Spring, Summer) but exact intake dates for cohorts not specified; students complete in three semesters ([csuohio.edu](https://www.csuohio.edu/online-rn
Based on publicly available information. Source
Programs
Details that belong to one program
Online MSN – Family Nurse Practitioner
Minimum GPA: 3.0
No official acceptance or admission rate published.
100% online asynchronously; no campus visits required.
Online MSN – Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner
Minimum GPA: 3.0
No official acceptance or admission rate published.
100% online asynchronously; no campus visits required.
Continue
One next page
The filled link is the direct next step. The others are there if you need them.
Reference
Questions about Cleveland State University – School of Nursing
What nursing programs does Cleveland State University – School of Nursing offer?
Is Cleveland State University – School of Nursing accredited?
Does Cleveland State University – School of Nursing offer online nursing programs?
How do I apply to Cleveland State University – School of Nursing's nursing programs?
Sources: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics; National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN); CCNE; ACEN.
School information
Check tuition and start dates
Tuition and start dates are on Cleveland State University – School of Nursing's website.
Get tuition & start datesContinues to Cleveland State University – School of Nursing's website. We don't collect your details.
If this is not the one
Two other schools
Open one of these. Each page shows that school's own programs.