Outcomes
NCLEX-RN pass rates by year
Board-reported first-time pass rates for Oakton Community College, each shown with the cohort size it was calculated from. Candidate-weighted average across 5 years: 93.8% over 244 candidates.
Oakton Community College's latest reported year is 2025, and that 97% — from a cohort of 34 first-time candidates — is 10.3 points above the 86.7% national first-time NCLEX-RN pass rate NCSBN reported for 2025.
| Exam year | First-time pass rate | Candidates |
|---|---|---|
| 2025 | 97% | 34 |
| 2024 | 100% | 43 |
| 2023 | 92% | 63 |
| 2022 | 89% | 46 |
| 2021 | 93% | 58 |
Source: state board of nursing publications, transcribed per cohort. Cohorts under 10 candidates are suppressed rather than shown. Full NCLEX detail for Oakton Community College.
Admissions
Admissions at Oakton Community College
Moderately Competitive.
- Oakton’s nursing program is limited-enrollment, meaning only a set number of applicants are admitted per term.
- Application deadlines and prerequisite completion:
- Fall admission: applications accepted October 1 through February 14; prerequisites must be completed by February 28.
- Spring admission: applications accepted March 1 through July 31; prerequisites must be completed by August 31.
- Academic requirements:
- Minimum overall GPA: 2.5 or higher.
- Alternatively, an ACT score of 18+, or SAT score of 960+, or 12 college credits with at least a 2.5 GPA.
- Prerequisite courses (must be completed within the last five years, minimum grade of C):
- Chemistry (CHM 105 or equivalent) or one year of high school chemistry with lab.
- BIO 231—Human Anatomy & Physiology I or equivalent.
- English placement via Oakton’s Writing Skills Assessment or completion of EGL 101 (or equivalent).
- MAT 070 or higher-level math within the last two years, or placement above MAT 070.
- Certified Nursing Assistant requirement:
- Completion of Basic Nurse Assistant Training (e.g., BNA 100) and passing the Illinois State CNA exam.
- HESI Admissions Assessment Exam (HESI A2) requirements:
- HESI must be taken within the past two years.
- Minimum scores required:
- Cumulative HESI score: 75%
- English composite: 80%
- Math: 75%
Based on publicly available information. Source
Format
Schedule and format at Oakton Community College
- The Associate Degree Nursing (ADN) program and other nursing credentials (e.g., Basic Nurse Assistant Training, Perioperative Nursing Certificate, Practical Nursing Certificate) include a combination of classroom, lab, and clinical experiences, with classes typically held on campus at the Des Plaines campus, and clinical experiences in various community healthcare settings.
- Delivery modes beyond traditional on-campus (e.g., online, hybrid, evening/weekend) are not specified, indicating likely standard in-person scheduling.
- The program follows a cohort model with structured sequencing of coursework. First- and second-year courses must be taken in a prescribed order and specific semesters; fall, spring, and optional summer (for conditional students) are designated.
- This implies single cohort per entry term with limited flexibility; multiple cohort start options (e.g., evening/weekend) are not stated.
- Asynchronous vs synchronous format: The catalog and program pages describe lecture, lab, and clinical components, but do not mention asynchronous online content or synchronous virtual delivery; it appears delivery is entirely in-person and synchronous.
- Flexible scheduling (evening/weekend): There is no mention of evening or weekend class options for nursing; courses are listed as offered in Fall or Spring, with some s
Based on publicly available information. Source
Continue
One next page
The filled link is the direct next step. The others are there if you need them.
Reference
Questions about Oakton Community College
What nursing programs does Oakton Community College offer?
Is Oakton Community College accredited?
Does Oakton Community College offer online nursing programs?
How do I apply to Oakton Community College's nursing programs?
Sources: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics; National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN); CCNE; ACEN.
If this is not the one
Two other schools
Open one of these. Each page shows that school's own programs.